“It’s easy for us to think of challenges in negative terms but I firmly believe that we only develop as we tackle challenges”

Eoin DalyBIS Graduate Eoin Daly is a financial services management consultant with PwC in the Middle East. Here he shares his story with us…

Why did you do BIS?
Honestly, I had Dentistry as my first pick on the CAO form until a week before deadline. Then someone recommended to me that I meet with a guidance counsellor in Clonakilty. He recognised that my real interests lay in problem solving. He introduced me to BIS and that was it.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
Hard to pick one thing so let me give you a few. Friendship. Challenges. Confidence. Too many great nights out!!! Continued ties to the course. Pride. A solid grounding in the real world. A lot of laughs.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
I worked for John Hancock Financial Services in Boston. I was supposed to join Massachusetts Water Resources Authority but the position fell through late in the day. However, the disappointment was quickly forgotten once I touched down in John Hancock. It was a fantastic experience within and outside working hours.

Where are you now?
Now I’m working as a financial services management consultant with PwC in the Middle East.

How did you get this job?
Along with a number of classmates, I joined Accenture after graduating. After about three years, I took some time to back pack the globe. Once I eventually brought myself home, a good friend and previous BIS classmate told me to talk to PwC, who were building their consultancy practice. I joined PwC Dublin in 2007, and in July 2015 made the move from Dublin to Dubai.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
Don’t try to keep everyone happy all the time. Focus on the people that matter. In fact, the advice probably extends beyond career advice to life in general.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced and how did you overcome it?
Working in consultancy since graduating, I’ve been lucky in that I have faced challenges weekly. It’s easy for us to think of challenges in negative terms but I firmly believe that we only develop as we tackle challenges. So they’re there to be embraced and learned from

…Actually come to think of it, if it’s ok, can I say Tom Butlers Operating Systems class in 3rd year? Still have no idea what was going on there or how I got through it!

Looking back now is there anything that you would have done differently?
Not a single thing! Life is good. For fear of the “Butterfly Effect”, I would not want to risk the change.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
If you’re unsure where you see yourself in five or ten years, then pick BIS. It will open options for you. If you know exactly where you’ll be in five or ten years, then pick BIS and have that journey accelerated 🙂

Leave a Reply

