“BIS is a degree programme with true international focus”

Paul DyerBIS gave graduate Paul Dyar the opportunity to work in Boston, New York, London, and Sydney. Here’s his story…

Why did you do BIS?
When I was leaving secondary school, I really wasn’t certain on what I wanted to do. I was always interested in computers, and loved business and economics in school, so BIS appealed to me because it allowed me to pursue both avenues and keep my options open. I must admit the allure of a placement in the US in third year was also very appealing.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
The practical skills I learned during my placement gave me a significant advantage when applying for graduate jobs. Being able to answer interview questions with examples from my corporate internship gave me a significant advantage over other graduates with no professional work experience, and helped me secure a graduate place on the Merrill Lynch graduate program.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
I went to Iron Mountain in downtown Boston. It was an incredible experience to live and work in the US, which I got to share about 60 of my classmates who all relocated to Boston for the six months.

Where are you now?
I am now working for an Australian company called UltraServe and I’m based in Sydney, Australia. UltraServe primarily focus on hosting Hybris (an SAP product) in the cloud. I manage the PMO and I’m responsible for all project delivery globally.

How did you get this job?
I came to Australia in 2012 after four and a half years working for Bank of America Merrill Lynch in London. At the time I had a one year working holiday visa and secured a six month contract role with UltraServe.

Halfway through my six month contract, UltraServe offered to sponsor me to stay and work for them in Australia. Four years later I’m still here with UltraServe, and actually in the process of applying for my Australian citizenship.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
“If you’re the smartest person in the room, you’re in the wrong room.”

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
As a Programme/ Project Manager my whole job is about facing and overcoming challenges both big and small on a daily basis. The key to working through all challenges is to keep calm, keep an open mind, and source input from experts all around you to find a suitable solution.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
I’ve made many mistakes, poor judgment calls, and even caused a disaster or two in my career so far. That said, for the most part, I wouldn’t change any of these as each mistake was a learning opportunity that has helped me develop.

In my experience as long as you learn from your mistakes, there is little point dwelling on the past.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
Do it! BIS is a degree programme with true international focus that equips students with a very unique set of in demand skill that allows them pursue a multitude of career paths.

The skills I learned through BIS have allowed me pursue a global career path and I’ve had the opportunity to work in Boston, New York, London and Sydney.

Leave a Reply

