If you take something that you love doing and find out how to make money from doing it, you’re on to a winner

Glenn GogginBIS graduate Glenn Goggin is Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Ottera, a business focusing on training technology for the Medical Device industry; and also Owner and Managing Partner at TechTank, a Business and Technology consultancy firm.

Why did you do BIS?
The short answer is I did BIS because I was told to do it by someone who knew my personality, skills and what I love to do, better than I did myself.

Long answer is like most people, when I was in school I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do in college. When I had to start filling out the CAO application I thought I finally decided on what I wanted to do – Computer Science. I went to our career guidance councillor to show him the CAO application. He read it and said “Computer Science? Good degree, but you would be wasted there. You need to be doing something in business and computers. How about BIS in UCC?  You’re well-matched to it and you will do very well because of it”. He couldn’t have been anymore right.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
Honestly, I could go on about how good the job prospects are after BIS or how valuable it is to be able to speak both Business and IT. That’s all true and important, but if I am being 100% honest the best thing I got out of BIS was the friendships. I was told a great saying when I left school to start college, “School friends come and go but college friends are for life”. It’s very true.

I am proud to say that I still meet up very regularly with my BIS friends and we always talk about the funny memories we have from doing BIS. Wherever we are in the world, we meet up every single year before Christmas.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
I went to Glasshouse Technologies in Chicago, where I wore a number of hats including Security Intern, IT analyst and Junior Project Manager. Being a bit of a ‘home bird’ I can honestly say that this work placement changed me for the better.

Where are you now?
I am the Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Ottera – a business focusing on training technology for the Medical Device industry. I am also Owner and Managing Partner at TechTank – a Business and Technology consultancy firm which works closely with female entrepreneurs to build their technology or help them with their sales/ marketing/ investment plans.

How did you get this job?
The inspiration for Ottera came from a MBS BIS masters project I worked on. TechTank started because I had a lot of people asking me to help them to build their product or help them with their business.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
Life is too short so it’s important to do what makes you happy. So if you take something that you love doing and find out how to make money from doing it, you’re on to a winner.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
Credibility – no matter what field you are in, credibility is very important. Especially in consulting where your business is based on reputation and credibility. The challenge I found is how do you demonstrate credibility when you just came out of college? I overcame this by getting my name out there and getting a few projects under my belt to demonstrate the value I can deliver to my clients.  Word of mouth took care of the rest.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
Looking back, I would have done two things differently. The first is take my own advice (do what you love) a lot sooner. The second is don’t just be smart, be wise also. I heard a great saying recently: “A stupid person never learns from their mistakes, a smart person learns from their mistakes, but a wise person learns from other people’s mistakes.”

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
If you are unsure about what to do in college, I would suggest that you get someone who you trust to examine your personality, skills and what you love, so they can offer guidance on what you should do in college. So in short, if in doubt, find someone who has your best interests in mind to help you make the decision.

Leave a Reply

