With variety comes opportunity

Laura HanoverLaura Hanover is now in final year BIS, having completed her six month work placement in Accenture in Dublin.

Why did you do BIS?
I chose to study BIS as I’ve always had a keen interest in technology and business. I first heard about BIS when some of the BIS staff members came and spoke to the students at my secondary school. The wide range of job opportunities available to graduates of the program, as well as the opportunities while still an undergraduate such as work placement really appealed to me. Therefore, choosing BIS as my first choice on my CAO wasn’t a difficult decision at all.

What is the best thing you have got out of the course so far?
So far the best thing I’ve gotten out of doing BIS is without a doubt the six month work placement in third year. I interned at Accenture in Dublin, working in consulting. It was an immensely enjoyable experience and I learned an incredible amount over a few short months.

Also all the amazing people I’ve met along the way have made the experience even better. The BIS Society organises many events throughout the year, including the annual ball, meaning everyone gets involved and get to know each other.

What’s the one thing that has surprised you most about the course?
What has surprised me most about the course is the variety of subjects offered. From speaking to graduates and hearing where their careers have taken them, this variety has provided a great base to move forward in many different sectors. In addition to this I was also surprised to hear how well known and recognised the degree is both here in Ireland and internationally.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?
Five years from now, I hope to be pursuing a successful career, hopefully in the area of consulting.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
If you are interested in BIS, go for it! You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

