UCC Open Day “sold” BIS to Laura Kent

Laura KentLaura Kent from Cork recently completed her six month paid work placement in Apple, Cork and has now returned to Final Year to finish studying for her BIS degree. Here she explains why she decided to do BIS and her experience so far…

Why did you do BIS?
I studied Business Studies for my Leaving Certificate and I always had a keen interest in technology. Therefore, I wanted to continue to grow my knowledge in a University environment. When I attended the UCC Open Day and spoke to BIS faculty and students, they really sold the course to me as I felt this course provided the right mix between business and IT.

What is the best thing you have got out of the course so far?
BIS opens the door to many opportunities such as a six month paid work placement in 3rd year. I completed my placement in Apple which provided me with a chance to develop my business and technical skills in a real life working environment. I believe completing an internship in the largest company in the world is without a doubt an accomplishment that will stand to me in my future career.

What’s the one thing that has surprised you most about the course?
Starting University, students can have a bit of anxiety but as soon as I started, I realised that everyone was at the same level entering the course. Everything was taught from the ground up and at a pace that suited the class. People have their own strengths which they can contribute, as well as learning things from one another.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?
In 5 years’ time, I am hoping to be well established in a company putting the skills that I have accumulated during my 4 years in BIS into practice.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
There are many opportunities from studying BIS as it opens up doors in areas such as developing, project management, consulting etc. I would advise anybody considering doing BIS to take all the opportunities given throughout the 4 years as the time really does fly by.

Leave a Reply

