Niamh Lyons agrees that with BIS you #GetTheRightMix

Niamh LyonsNiamh Lyons is a 22 year old 4th year BIS student from Wilton in Cork. Here she shares some of her BIS story…

Why did you do BIS?
I chose to do BIS because I had an interest in both business and technology but I did not want to limit myself to just one. Another reason I chose BIS was because of the wide variety of great career opportunities that are available to BIS graduates.

What is the best thing you have got out of the course so far?
By far the best thing that I have gotten from BIS so far has been the placement experience. In 3rd year, all students take part in a six month work placement. For this I chose to work in Eaton Vance in Boston, which was an amazing experience, both working in a successful financial company and living in America for half a year.

What’s the one thing that has surprised you most about the course?
What has surprised me most about BIS has been how close everybody in my year has become. In BIS we spend a lot of time together in the computer labs for tutorials or doing projects so everybody gets to know each other really well.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?
I’m not 100% sure where I want to be in 5 years’ time, but with the huge variety of jobs available to BIS graduate I know there are a lot of options out there for me.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
The main piece of advice I would give to someone considering doing BIS would be to definitely apply, it is a great course with great opportunities.

Leave a Reply

