Emmanuel Adeleke embraced the opportunities that came with a BIS degree

Emmanuel Adeleke graduated in 2010, and is today based in Dublin as a Manager in the IT Advisory practice at EY. Emmanuel Adeleke

Why did you do BIS?
I’ve always had a passion for technology… probably from playing too many video games as a child. Speaking to students and graduates at the time really highlighted the opportunities that came with a BIS degree. The best description I was given at the time was that this is a course that provided a well-rounded view of how technology can not only inform, but improve, decision making. And on top of that you get to apply these skills in large organisations through the placement programme.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
There are two key things that truly stand out for me:

Most of my closest friends to this day are former classmates of mine from the course. Through the college requirements, placement experiences, social experiences, and varying personal circumstances, I truly feel there was a great bond created amongst us. These are relationships that I truly cherish as I really feel like I have a great support network as a result. Even outside of having the personal relationships, these are people that understand what we do. Either that, or we all have fun pretending to know what it is we actually do!

Secondly, the work placement experience was so positive for me on so many levels. It was my very first time living away from home, and in a different continent at that. There is a sense of independence and personal responsibility that comes with that. On top of this, my placement experience really gave me a first-hand insight into the business and IT world and this has been key to my career decisions post-graduation. It was a great platform for me to really assess my strengths and made me very aware of areas for development both on a personal and professional level.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
I worked with Fidelity Investments, Merrimack, New Hampshire and lived in Boston for 6 months.

Where are you now?
I am currently a Manager in the IT Advisory practice in EY, Dublin.

How did you get this job?
Building a professional network is a great asset in Consulting ,or any other industry for that matter. It allows you the opportunity to assess your options from time to time. I was approached via my LinkedIn profile about a great opportunity to join the fastest growing Consulting practice in the country, and play a key role in the growth plan.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
“Don’t let the fear of failure stop you from making a decision.”

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
The biggest challenge I’ve ever faced was so long ago but I still use it as motivation today. I relocated to Ireland as a child, leaving family and friends to start a different life in a new country (a wet and cold one at that)! Being able to handle the changes and tackle the difficulties that came with this, and becoming a fully-fledged Corkonian in the process makes me feel like everything is achievable! This is probably one of the main reasons why I tend to stay positive no matter the challenge.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
Fortunately enough, I tend to only look at the positives in most situations. Even when things don’t go as expected, there are always lesson learnt.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
The more you put in, the more you get out of it. This might sound a bit clichéd, but this course really does provide you with so many opportunities to really get a well-rounded development experience. Sometimes you don’t realise this while you’re a student, but the fact that so many of the alumni still have a great relationship with the department speaks great volumes of the impact the course has had on our development. This includes me, as luckily over the last 6 months, I have been able to add EY to a growing list of professional service organisations that now have a close tie with the course. This can only lead to more opportunities as demonstrated by our intakes for internships and graduate programmes in 2015.

And finally, embrace the opportunity!

Leave a Reply

