Andrea Graham’s 3rd year work placement solidified her love for software engineering

Andrea Graham graduated in 2014 and now works as a Software Engineer with EMC in Cork, the same company she did her 3rd year work placement with. Andrea Graham

Why did you do BIS?
I have always had a keen interest in business and technology, and when someone from UCC’s BIS department came to speak with us at school I was confident that the mix of business and technology that was offered by the programme would provide me with the right mix of skills that I wanted to acquire.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
The BIS faculty creates an environment that promotes a sense of belief and self-confidence that anything can be achieved once you put your mind to it. They foster relationships between staff and students where interpersonal skills are developed, demonstrating that they not only teach theory, but also the soft skills needed to succeed.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
I was fortunate to be placed in EMC, a multi-national organisation based in Cork, where I worked as a software engineer. I had the opportunity to work with a talented team and had my efforts recognised by their inclusion in a product release. It solidified my love for software engineering, and after my placement I was assured I had chosen the right career path for me.

Where are you now?
I am currently working in EMC as a software engineer. I also run my own company, Aztech solutions, developing software products, one of which, SOLAS, an attendance tracking system for third level institutions, is currently deployed in the BIS and Management and Marketing departments in UCC.

How did you get this job?
I was contacted by EMC about the position.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
Have confidence in yourself and your ability to succeed. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there, network with key individuals, and never miss an opportunity to promote yourself.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
Selecting which company to work for after graduating from BIS. Do I work for a start-up, an established company or a multi-national? Home or abroad? BIS graduates are so valued that their opportunities are many and varied. I was certain after completing my work placement in EMC that it was the right place for me to start my career.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
I can honestly say I wouldn’t change anything. From day one at orientation to our final day at graduation I loved everything that BIS and UCC had to offer. The knowledge gained, the honed inter-personal skills, and of course the friends made through BIS, are something that I’ll have forever. BIS has given me an amazing start to me career.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
If your ambition is to excel in business and or technology then BIS will not disappoint and will provide you with a mix of skills to allow you to work in a variety of positions from data analytics to graphic design, from finance to software engineering.

Leave a Reply

