Clara Walsh gained so much more from BIS than just a degree

Clara Walsh graduated from BIS in 2014, and is now a Software Developer for CoreHR.

She says if it were not for BIS, the transition into working life would have been much tougher.

Clara Walsh

Why did you do BIS?
Having done a lot of research on BIS the course, it seemed like a great fit for me as I had an interest in both business and technology and I knew this was the field I wanted to get into. Knowing that I would get an opportunity to go on placement in third year was a factor too because I loved the idea of getting first hand work experience and the opportunity to maybe do this in a different country.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
I think the best thing I got out of BIS was that it introduced me to coding. From the get go I found the development modules very interesting. I didn’t know that much about technology, but from the very beginning I really enjoyed learning about the ins and outs of technology.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
In third year I went to America and worked as a Software Developer with Fidelity Investments for six months. I was working alongside a classmate of mine and it was a great experience because it was the first time I worked on real software in a live environment.

Where are you now?
I am currently working as a Software Developer for CoreHR. I am working on the development support team and I am in charge of fixing issues with both clients’ websites and internal products – it’s quite a technical area.

How did you get this job?
I applied for this job in fourth year after the company came to speak to the class about graduate positions.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
To always try to identify and utilise mentors wherever you go, and try to avoid wasting time making mistakes others have made before you. You’ll make enough mistakes of your own.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
Since graduating in October 2014, it’s all been about jumping straight into the real world. I can say for sure that if it were not for BIS, this transition into working life would have been much tougher. I have left BIS with a wide variety of skills and for me, I think the challenge I face now is to continue on this path and strive to excel in whatever the future holds for me.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
Looking back on it there really is very little I would change. If I could do the four years in BIS again I would do it in a heartbeat, I honestly enjoyed every moment of it.  I gained so much more from BIS than just a degree, as I have made life long friends and have a new found passion for all things tech.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
There are so many different type of jobs available to you when you do a course like BIS and the great thing is you don’t have to choose what you want to do straight away, you have four years to discover different career paths you can go down, so if you are looking for a degree which has huge opportunities in the financial and IT sector BIS is the degree for you.

Leave a Reply

