Yvonne O’Connor explains why it’s so important to Get The Right Mix

Yvonne OConnor Yvonne O’Connor graduated from BIS in 2008. She is now a Post-Doctoral Researcher based in University College Cork.

Here she shares her BIS story and talks about where it has taken her… 

 

Why did you do BIS? 

With a helpful push from my parent and reading the UCC prospectus I knew that BIS was the right course for me to pursue. I was a computer enthusiast and always relished the idea of starting my own business someday. BIS offers students the opportunity to study both business and technical subjects, while providing a 6 months paid business placement. I knew that doing BIS would enable me to obtain the right mix of skills for a successful career.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
BIS opened doors, and it also opened my mind. I take on challenges now, both personally and professionally, because I have faith in my own abilities. BIS gave me the confidence to become the individual I am today.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
Stryker Orthopaedics, Carrigtwohill, Cork. I had the best experience working here on networking and infrastructural projects. It was great using the knowledge I gained in BIS and applying it in practice.

Where are you now?
I am now part of the BIS family in the O’Rahilly Building, UCC! I work in BIS as a Post-Doctoral Researcher and I am mentor for BIS 4 students for their Final Year Projects (FYPs).

How did you get this job?
BIS gave me a concrete foundation to build my career upon and through hard work and dedication I received a first class honours BSc (2008) and a PhD (2013) in BIS. I was fortunate that a post-doctoral research position was available within the department when I had finished and defended my dissertation. During my PhD I had the opportunity to lecture Commerce and Commerce International undergraduate students for a number of years. From there I requested to become a mentor for the FYP.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
Doing research is a very personal experience. So the best piece of advice I received in my current position as a Post-Doctoral Researcher is to “Love your research.”

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
Post-doctoral research positions are temporary and unfortunately have fixed end dates. I have yet to reach the end date of my current position so I have not faced the biggest challenge of being a post-doctoral researcher as of yet. However, in an effort to overcome this down the line, I continually strive to improve and further develop my professional skillset to enhance my career opportunities.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
We have all heard the adage that “Hindsight is a great thing”. While this is predominantly true in most ways of life I don’t think I can say it for my time in BIS. I made some long-lasting relationships (both personal and professional); participated in BIS social activities; worked hard to obtain the qualifications and marks I sought; and made the most that BIS had to offer both academically and socially.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
I was the only person from my secondary school who accepted the BIS course in UCC. To me I was entering the unknown, full of worry in a city away from family and friends. If you are in a similar situation do not let that stop you. BIS is one of the most renowned courses for ensuring that you get to know your classmates. I entered Boole 4 in UCC, alone on my first day of BIS and it was there that I met a fellow classmate who, to this day, continues to be my best friend. You will find and make friends for life with BIS.  Therefore I would say: Challenge yourself, be brave, take that initial step and select BIS. It will be worth it!

One thought on “Yvonne O’Connor explains why it’s so important to Get The Right Mix

  1. I completed my diploma in Applied business computing as a mature student recently.
    I am now a prospective candidate for BIS in UCC.
    My only regret is that , I didn’t do this 25 years ago.
    I too made great friends,and I say to all and sundry, get up and go,it,s never too late.
    My 2 daughters (4,and 5) are very proud of their dad, as we all go to school each morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

