Get the Right Mix like BIS graduate Tommy Dunton

Tommy DuntonTommy Dunton, who graduated from BIS in 2014, is now Sales Director at KonnectAgain and is based between Dublin and San Francisco.

Here he shares a little about his experience, and offers advice and tips to anyone considering doing BIS…

Why did you do BIS?

It was actually by pure chance, I had never thought about BIS until someone from the department came in to speak to our class during 5th year in secondary school. I had always been interested in tech and wanted to start my own company, so the fact that I could study business and technology subjects in one course seemed like the right mix to help me eventually realise those aspirations.

What was the best thing you got out of the course?
A mix of skills and knowledge which I know will benefit me in any career I pursue, some fantastic mentors and above all else a lot of great friends and experiences that I know will stay with me well into my later life.

Where did you go on work placement in 3rd year?
I spent 6 months in Boston working with Fidelity Investments.

Where are you now?
I work as the Sales Director of a startup company called KonnectAgain and I’m based between Dublin and San Francisco.

How did you get this job?
I was involved in an Entrepreneurial Society in UCC for 4 years and the CEO of the Company was the President of the society the year before I was. We worked together in the society and the week after I finished my exams I joined KonnectAgain as their first employee.

What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given relating to your career?
Be patient, and choose your next career move because you think it’s the best move for YOU. You won’t ever really know exactly what you want to do but you’ll definitely scratch off the things you don’t want to do along the way so experience as much as you can and you’ll eventually find what you love. And above all else, make sure you never settle for something less than a job you love because you’ll spend a huge part of your life doing it.

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced, and how did you overcome it?
I don’t think I’ve had one ‘big challenge’ but the continuous challenge is dealing with the steep learning curve that we all experience between secondary school, college, and then on into the workplace. If you think about it too much it can seem like a very daunting thing, so take on the smallest task first. The best way I found of dealing with it was to look at everything as an opportunity more so than anything else. We are all going to have to face similar challenges, it’s inevitable, so why not accept it and try get the most out of it. I found the more I pushed myself outside of my comfort zone the easier it got to deal with similar challenges as I met them in the future.

Looking back now, is there anything that you would have done differently?
Quite honestly, no! I think BIS and my college experiences have given me a great platform to be able to achieve everything I want to in my career. One thing I probably would do a little more is appreciate just how lucky I was to have the classmates and great experiences that I had during college.

If you had one piece of advice to offer someone considering doing BIS, what would it be?
If you think it’s the right course for you then take the gamble. You won’t find another course in the country that offers you the placement opportunities, the vast mix of knowledge and practical skills, the sense of family within a class, the phenomenal professional development and that will prepare you more for the workplace than what you’ll find in BIS. It’s a course I really enjoyed!

2 thoughts on “Get the Right Mix like BIS graduate Tommy Dunton

  1. I completed my diploma in Applied business computing as a mature student recently.
    I am now a prospective candidate for BIS in UCC.
    My only regret is that , I didn’t do this 25 years ago.
    I too made great friends,and I say to all and sundry, get up and go,it,s never too late.
    My 2 daughters (4,and 5) are very proud of their dad, as we all go to school each morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

